top of page
P1380753.JPG

All Reviews

"Bells Haven - this place was relaxing, comfortable, stylish and absolutely perfect! Could not recommend Bells Haven higher! Mike was an absolutely incredible host - he was so welcoming and would bend over backwards to ensure we had a great time. Such a legend! The place is in such a great location, beautiful scenery and had all comforts you could ask for, no matter the weather. We will 100% stay at Bells Haven again!! Loved it!"

- Andy, March 2023

"Lovely little place, peaceful and beautiful surroundings and wildlife. Easy to locate and not too far from the main town of Torquay, 10min drive, definitely visit again"

- Demi, February 2023

"We really enjoyed our stay here. Each morning we had breakfast on the outdoor table and watched the galahs and cockatoos. The owner Steve was friendly and provided us with fresh eggs and seeds for the birds. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. We would recommend staying here."

- Simon, February 2023

"Beautiful place to stay, just close enough that it’s easy to get into town but far away enough that you feel peacefully alone in nature - falling asleep to the sound of kookaburras and waking up to the morning birds and a friendly hello from the Puppy’s that live in the residence! absolutely would love to return at some stage in the near future."

- Zee, January 2023

"Melissa & Mike are wonderful hosts and have created the perfect getaway on the coast. They are super friendly, helpful and quick to respond to questions. Close to main shops and restaurants but secluded from the hustle & bustle of the surf coast. The space is clean, spacious enough for a getaway and has everything you might need for a weekend away. Although close to the main house the guesthouse is facing away and offers great privacy and feels disconnected from all but nature which is full with wildlife. We loved the stay and can’t wait to come back. Highly recommended."

- Luke, December 2022

"Absolutely beautiful and cozy! The outdoor bath and sauna are a great addition, we had a relaxed and quiet time. Loved it."

- Sandra, December 2022

"Awesome property & place. The hosts were lovely. Loved the sauna and the bird life as well. Great location and easy to access wherever you needed. The only downside was no internet and we had booked it to work remotely but hotspotting worked fine. The ad was accurate and if you expanded amenities, wifi wasn’t selected but unless you clicked it, you wouldn’t have known (like us). For the premium price, wifi is a bit of a must have but it sounded like the owner is getting it sorted."

- Elijah, December 2022

"Bells Beach Haven is certainly a lovely little escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. The native surrounds, chooks, dogs, birds and kangaroos really make you feel immersed in nature, and are all very regenerative. The accommodation itself seemed newly completed, neat, and thoughtfully done - it still has the smell of fresh timber stain! As pointed out in an earlier review, it is attached to the owner’s primary residence. An internal door separates The Haven from the owner’s workshop, and a carport separates The Haven from the main house. For the amount of money paid, we felt that some of the finishes could have been refined (the advertised rate is the “base rate” and it cost less to stay at a 5 star hotel on Collins St once all extra costs have been included). For example, the TV isn’t connected to an aerial or wifi (so I guess it’s just for screen mirroring?), the coffee machine was out of action, and the outdoor bathtub can’t really be filled because it leaks around the plug almost as quickly as it can be filled. You can decide for yourself whether these are important or not! The owner, Mike, is an absolute legend. He is polite and very attentive, and responds to any enquiries promptly. He generously offers the use of 2 mountain bikes (non-electric). It is worth noting that he is obviously pottering around the property doing various tasks, which was in the back of my partner’s mind when enjoying the outdoor bath/shower. We didn’t want him getting a rude shock by stumbling around the corner and finding us in our birthday suits! The communication and provision of detailed information in the lead-up to the stay were impressive. Overall, we would recommend staying there to connect with nature in one of the most beautiful regions of Australia, but you better be ready to pay handsomely for the experience :)"

- Timothy, October 2022

"We had such a nice stay at Bells Beach Haven. Mike is a great host, very friendly and helpful. We loved the chooks and wildlife and sitting outside in the evening in front of the fire with a cheese plate. Great location, just around the corner from Bells Beach and a good place to explore the Great Ocean Road. It felt like home away from home. Would definitely recommend!"

- Anthea, October 2022

"Such an amazing spot, Mike was an awesome host and loved the setup at Bells Beach Haven, was a perfect getaway!."

- Ben, September 2022

"We had such a lovely stay. The outdoor bath was great and it was so peaceful being in nature. I’ve been coming to the area since I was a kid and this is the most authentic Bells Beach experience I’ve ever had. Thanks for making the stay so nice."

- Joel, September 2022

"Had the most amazing time here at bell’s beach haven. Mike + his puppy Remi are great hosts and make you feel right at home. Very accomodating and cozy, it is the perfect little get away that’s close enough to JanJuc but also feels perfectly secluded. Highly recommend, you won’t regret it!"

- Erynn, September 2022

"To get away from the city and be around the trees and bush with the chooks and roos about was the highlight for us. for us the few days was about going slow and soaking in nature. When I think of country friendliness - I think of Mike. tnx! Cheers Joe"

- Joe, September 2022

"My boyfriend and I had a beautiful weekend away in Bellbrae. The accommodation was immaculate and the rustic interior design matched the outdoor surrounding of the gorgeous property. There was lots of beautiful wildlife! Our host was delightful and talk us through all the instructions for the new sauna which had just been connected and the beautiful outdoor bath. Unfortunately, it was a little too cold to have a bath however, we will definitely use it next time we stay! We ventured into surrounding suburbs and visited the Torquay Saturday Farmers Market, Great Ocean Road Chocolate Shop and Bellbrae Winery Estate. Overall, the accommodation was stunning, our host was absolutely lovely, plenty of attractions to be kept entertained and a fabulous weekend getaway!"

- Amy, August 2022

"Had a beautiful time with our stay at bells beach haven. the property was lovely and quiet, saw lots of wildlife and woke up to the cockatoos having their breakfast. the house was lovely and very clean, had no issues with anything! lovely owners and their pups were adorable. really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back so we can try out the outdoor bath in spring time and the sauna! beautiful spot for a couple wanting a weekend of peace and quiet xxhad a beautiful time with our stay at bells beach haven. the property was lovely and quiet, saw lots of wildlife and woke up to the cockatoos having their breakfast. the house was lovely and very clean, had no issues with anything! lovely owners and their pups were adorable. really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back so we can try out the outdoor bath in spring time and the sauna! beautiful spot for a couple wanting a weekend of peace and quiet xx"

- Alice, August 2022

"Had an excellent time during our getaway over the long weekend. The location is nicely situated - only 5-10 mins from food and shops, but still with a rural feeling on a quiet piece of land, and only minutes from quality surf beaches. The heaters worked really well to keep the place warm and cosy, even over quite a cold few days. The bedding was luxurious and soft and had a lovely mattress on the firmer side. Loved the smell of the soaps/toiletries and room spray. Check in/out was a breeze and the place was very clean and tidy. All round a great experience."

- Daniela, June 2022

"Incredible weekend with Mike at his lovely accommodation . Location is great, the space is so wonderful with great additional touches to make this a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. So we’ll furnished. Highly recommend. Mike is great too!"

- Cass, May 2022

"I recently spent 3 relaxing nights at Bells Beach Haven. And a haven it is! Apart from a couple of short trips into nearby Torquay I spent my time and generally chilling at the property: reading, lying in the garden hammock and watching the ducks and chooks pecking around the property. Breakfast provisions were catered, with the bonus of some duck eggs courtesy of the Mike (the host) and a bowl of fresh fruit. The home was immaculate. Upstairs the bedroom and bed were light and comfortable with a bright roomy shower adjacent. I'm giving Bells Beach Haven 5 stars. I'll definitely be back!"

- Debbie, February 2023

"Every detail about Bells Beach Haven was absolutely perfect! The communications were prompt and the owner was very friendly and helpful recommending beautiful local spots to checkout. The property was stunning inside and out, with the perfect touches of luxury with the private outdoor bath, fireplace and sauna. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend to everyone!"

- Paige, February 2023

"The accomodation is a beautifully designed and private space. It’s got everything you need in a great location. The host Steve is extremely nice and helpful. Couldn’t ask for more."

- David, January 2023

"Bells Beach Haven is a gorgeous spot and we couldn’t recommend it more. It’s a beautifully styled little cottage surrounded by lots of nature. We loved seeing all the birds and ducks feeding in the morning. My toddler loved the outdoor bath and riding his bike around the property. Relaxing in the evening in the garden watching the sunset was perfect, and the master bedroom was beautifully furnished and so comfortable. Mike was a very helpful and accomodating host too."

- Teresa, December 2022

"This is a delightful cottage set In beautiful green grounds.It was so peaceful and calming to be here. The decor of the cottage was charming and I loved the outdoor area with the hammock, outdoor bath and the sauna. I would love to visit again. A place for deep relaxation."

- Joanna, December 2022

"Beautiful spot, 3 km from bells Beach. 10 mins drive to anglesea or torquay. 6 mins to swell cafe at Jan jac which is also great for breakfast. Loved the sauna. Perfect place for a BBQ, fire, sauna, chill and close enough to beaches and restaurants in the car."

- Gemma, December 2022

"We had a beautiful and serene weekend at Bells Beach Haven. The location and styling of this accommodation really set the scene for the quiet escape we needed from our active social and personal lives. To top it off we were welcomed each day by the local fauna and friendly neighbouring dogs and chickens! The sauna was just the icing on the cake for us. We spent more time at the Haven than exploring the surrounding beaches as initially thought, but it suited us perfectly as all we needed to enjoy ourselves was provided. Thanks for having us! Anne, Laura, Suzy and Vanessa :)"

- Anne, November 2022

"Myself and my partner had a nice couple of days at the property, it is in a nice location being away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to commute back and forth to the local township. The property was easy to find and no issues on that front. The area itself was probably a bit smaller than expected for the price in comparison to other Airbnb’s and closer to the main household than expected. All in all it is a nice spot for a getaway."

- Isaac, November 2022

"We absolutely loved our 2 night stay. Position was perfect. Close to the beach but the property felt as if we were at a farmhouse. Lots of bird life, a large property with lots of trees & greenery gave it a very calm feel. The house had everything we could have wanted. The sauna was fabulous to warm up in after a dip in the ocean. We also rented the E bikes & rode into Torquay stopping at a cafe ‘Swell’ that served delicious coffee & food. We also met Mike, the owner of the property, who gave us some great recommendations. We’d be happy to stay again!"

- Natalie, October 2022

"We loved our weekend at Bells Beach Haven! I went with my partner, our nine year old and 5 month old. We loved the chickens and birds at the property, and using the sauna! During our stay we went on a little hike to Point Addis and had a great lunch at Last One Inn in Anglesea."

- Cat, October 2022

"One of the most amazing places you'll ever stay at. Very stylishly decorated with all the amenities that you'll need. Bed is very comfy and the home was super clean. Melissa's place is just tucked away in a nice wide open but secluded area, though only a 5-10 minute drive to all the main areas of Torquay. Mike and Melissa were amazing hosts and were extremely accommodating to our needs. It was awesome to have so much wildlife amongst us during our stay. The sauna was a treat and we used it to its fullest. Definitely will come back here when we get the chance!"

- Lex, September 2022

"Bells Beach Haven is an idyllic escape so close to Bells Beach and immersed in nature. The host was wonderful, communication excellent and facilities spotless!"

- Samantha, September 2022

"Bells Beach Haven is such a sweet and beautiful place to stay. The space is so welcoming and cosy. It's easily accessible, it has a beautiful outdoor space to sit and enjoy all the local wildlife and fresh air. It's in a perfect location, close to lots of good places to eat, and beaches to explore! My partner and I had a wonderful few days here, exploring the local areas as well as venturing out along the Great Ocean Road. We loved our stay and will definitely come back soon!"

- Alexandra, September 2022

"The Haven was the perfect home away from home. We loved everything about it. We loved & enjoyed the addition of the sauna & outdoor fireplace."

- Brylee, September 2022

"Bells Beach Haven was a beautiful getaway, I'd definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet escape, the Sauna was a huge plus. Mike was an awesome host and graciously let us use his ebikes for a storm into town, we'll be back."

- Adam, August 2022

"We loved our stay at Bells Beach Haven, it was a great little spot with everything you need close by and lovely hosts. Highly recommend."

- Billy, August 2022

"Beautiful accommodation in a lovely quiet and serene area but also close to shops/Torquay. The most comfortable bed and pillows we have slept on! Loved waking up to the beautiful wildlife. Sauna is also an excellent addition!"

- Lindsay, July 2022

"Was a great stay. Photos were bit deceiving as did not realise was next to main house. Actual house was excellent. Toilet sit however did not fit toilet. Still cozy and great getaway. Would recommend still."

- Daniel, July 2022

"First impressions matter and what and impression it was. Bells Beach Haven was absolutely stunning as soon as we arrived. The house was extremely welcoming with warm cozy home feeling."

- David, June 2022

"Everything about this place was perfect. Was looking for a perfect weekend getaway and it exceeded my expectations. It’s a must stay if you’re down that way. Personal highlight would have to be being given fresh eggs from the chickens for our breakfast. Thank you so much for an incredible stay."

- Mackenzie, May 2022

"100% recommend staying here, everything was perfect! Great location. Loved the outdoor fire and bbq area. Thanks for a great stay!"

- Ellie, April 2022

"Such a wonder place so close to the beach!
The actually accomodation is super cute and cozy with everything you need to enjoy a peaceful getaway. Upon booking you’ll receive some amazing tips and recommendations on places to eat and things to see while on your stay. Was soo relaxing, sitting and reading in the cozy living space while cockatoo’s snack on seeds at the bird feeder right outside your door."

- Stephen, April 2022

bottom of page